How to find us?


Address: 42, Rue Schweighaeuser  67000 Strasbourg  FRANCE

more »

Tel. +33 390 411750

Lithuania and the Council of Europe

Created: 2014.11.06 / Updated: 2014.11.13 09:56

Any European state can become a member of the Council of Europe if it accepts the rule of law and guarantees human rights and fundamental freedoms to everyone under its jurisdiction.

The Council of Europe is an intergovernmental organisation which aims:

  • to protect human rights, pluralist democracy and the rule of law;
  • to promote awareness and encourage the development of Europe’s cultural identity and diversity;
  • to find common  solutions to the challenges facing European society:  discrimination against minorities, xenophobia, intolerance, bioethics and cloning, terrorism, trafficking in human beings, organised crime and corruption, cybercrime, violence against children, etc;
  • to consolidate democratic stability in Europe by backing political, legislative and constitutional reform.

47 member states

The Council of Europe was set up on 5 May 1949 by 10 countries (Belgium, Denmark, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom), joined by Greece and Turkey in August 1949. It now has 47 member states: Iceland and Germany (1950), Austria (1956), Cyprus (1961), Switzerland (1963), Malta (1965), Portugal (1976), Spain (1977), Liechtenstein (1978), San Marino (1988), Finland (1989), Hungary (1990), Poland (1991), Bulgaria (1992), Estonia, Lithuania, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Romania (1993), Andorra (1994), Latvia, Albania, Moldova, Ukraine, “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia“(1995), Russian Federation and Croatia (1996), Georgia (1999), Armenia and Azerbaijan (2001), Bosnia and Herzegovina (2002), Serbia (2003), Monaco (2004), Montenegro (2007).

The Council of Europe is not the European Union. The two organisations are quite distinct, but the 27 European Union states are all members of the Council of Europe.

Observer status

Canada, the Holy See, Japan, the United States of America, Mexico and Israel enjoy observer status with the Council of Europe’s intergovernmental bodies.

Palais de l’Europe

The Palais de l’Europe in Strasbourg (France) is the Council of Europe’s headquarters.

The Council of Europe covers all major issues facing European society other than defence. Its work programme includes the following: human rights, media, legal co-operation, social cohesion, health, education, culture, heritage, sport, youth, local democracy and transfrontier co-operation, the environment and regional planning.

  • The Committee of Ministers is the Council of Europe’s decision-making body, comprising the foreign ministers of all 47 member states (or their Permanent Representatives).
  • The Parliamentary Assembly is the Organisation’s deliberative body; members are appointed by national parliaments (318 members and 318 substitutes).
  • The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe is a consultative body representing local and regional authorities.
    Governments, national parliaments and local and regional authorities are thus represented separately.
  • The Conference of INGOs of the Council of Europe comprises some 400 international NGOs which enjoy participatory status with the Council of Europe. 

An elected Secretary General

Thorbjorn Jagland (Norway) was elected Secretary General by the Parliamentary Assembly in 2014 for a five-year term. He directs and co-ordinates the organisation’s activities.

Conferences of specialised ministers

The Council of Europe periodically organises specialised ministerial conferences (justice, education, family affairs, health, environment, local authorities, migration, equality between women and men, labour, mass media, culture, sport, youth, etc.).

The conferences analyse major problems in these sectors and foster contact between counterpart ministries in other member states. They work out projects to be implemented jointly, and propose activities for the Council’s work programme.

Building Europe day by day

The Council of Europe’s work leads to European conventions and agreements and member states may harmonise and amend their own legislation to comply with them.

Some conventions and agreements are also open for signature by non-member states. The results of studies and activities are available to governments in order to encourage co-operation and social progress in Europe. 

The Council of Europe also adopts partial agreements, a form of ”variable geometry“ co-operation, which allow a number of states to carry out specific activities of common interest with the consent of other members.

Official languages

The official languages are English and French, but German, Italian and Russian are also used as working languages. A number of texts exist in several languages on the website:

Subscribe to our newsletters